Realtor LTC Class
Includes breakfast, lunch, range fees, DOOR PRIZES, and a copy of my book, Safer is as Safer Does: Safety Principles for Real Estate Agents!
Duration: Range time: 1 hour, Classroom time: 5 hours
Instructor: Proactive LTC - Robert Phillips View Bio
- 8:30 AM - Breakfast, safety briefing & gun rental (if applicable)
- 9:00 AM - Range Qualification
- 10:00 AM - LTC Classroom starts
- 11:30 AM - Lunch is provided
- 3:00 PM - Class adjourns
WHAT TO KNOW:
I'm excited to be your instructor and just wanted to let you know that if you're new to firearms and not familiar with how to operate the handgun safely and effectively, a basic handgun course is required before you can take this class.
All you need to bring is a BLACK ink pen and your Texas driver's license.
There is nothing else to do until the class. If you have further questions email me at ProactiveLTC@gmail.com or call me at 469-222-8641.
The instructor requires a copy of your driver's license once you register.
You can bring your own handgun or borrow a friend's handgun. Your firearm must be unloaded and kept in your bag/container until instructed to remove it while in the shooting area. If you need to rent a handgun you will need to purchase ammo from the range if you use their guns. This will need to be taken care of prior to class starting.
It can be a .22 caliber or larger (.32, .380, .38, .357, 9mm, .40 or .45 caliber). You can use either a revolver or semi-automatic that is in good working condition.
You'll need 50 rounds of factory ammunition. RELOADED / REMANUFACTURED AMMO IS NOT ALLOWED and no Steel or Aluminum Casings. Bring one or two magazines if using a semi-auto handgun.
Bring your own hearing/eye protection. Normal eyeglasses are acceptable.
Wear clothing that is suitable for a shooting range. Closed collar helps keep possible hot shell casings from flying into your shirt or blouse, which can get a little hot and cause you to flinch. If this happens, your gun could become misdirected. DO NOT wear sandals!
The majority of our time is spent in the classroom and we cover these topics:
Overview of the Texas LTC program and help with the license application process
Texas state laws and lawful carry
Use of Force and Deadly Force
Non-violent conflict resolution
Safe firearm storage, Open Carry, holster selection and handling
Handgun use and basic marksmanship
Range preparation – safety rules and target scoring
Expectations and Outcomes
The Texas LTC shooting test passing score is 175 points out of 250 points or a score of 70%. The state allows for three chances to pass the shooting test.
The written test for a Texas LTC consists of 25 questions. All questions are either multiple choice or true/false. A passing score on the exam is 70% (18 out of 25 correct).
Q: “Will I ever have to take a Carry License class again?”
A: No, as long as you actually continue to renew the license on time (as required), all renewal classroom & shooting requirements have been lifted.
Q: “What will I have to do to renew the license?”
A: The DPS will mail notification 6- months before your license expires. Update your information and then pay the license fee.
Q: “How long is a license valid?”
A: 4+ years the 1st time, every 5- years thereafter.
Q: “How long is my LTC 100 Form (certificate of class completion) valid?”
A: It’s good for 2 years. But, keep in mind, your online application is only valid for one year.
Q: “What is the minimum age to take a Texas Carry License class?”
A: Technically, there is no minimum age to take the class, but the minimum age to apply for a license is 18 for active military & 21 for civilians. We discourage any civilian less than 19 from enrolling in the class (CHL 100 only good for 2- years). Due to the mature content of the class, we do not allow children to enroll, even with a parent or guardian.
There are no upcoming classes scheduled for this course.