Dear Responsible Gun Owner,
Welcome to 5150 HEAT LLC – Firearms Training Academy.
First, thank you for contacting us!
Self-defense is not only our right; it is our duty;
given that it is one of God’s oldest laws. -KC
Our CCW Training is designed to qualify students for a California CCW License providing they are a resident of Orange County. And yes, if you have questions or concerns, I can assist you with your CCW application with the OCSD. You don't need to bring your handgun(s) on the first session of class, (Tuesday night). But I will need to do a safety & function test of your handgun(s) on the second session (Wednesday night).
The Tuesday & Wednesday CCW Initial (1st Time) Training Course is one of our most popular courses and the midweek series will keep your weekend free to spend with your family and friends or to earn a living.
Included Course Textbooks & Student Handouts:
1: California CCW Handbook ($17 Value!).
2. California Firearms Laws Summary - CA DOJ 3.
3. eTextbook, CA Gun Laws & What You Need to Know USB ($25 Value!).
4. Additional student handouts as the needs of the class require.
5. Qualify with multiple handguns at NO ADDITIONAL COST!
6. My competition charges $20 to $40 extra (per handgun qualification, beyond the first).
7. Add additional handguns to your CCW License, any time at NO COST ($65 value per handgun) offer extended to returning 5150 HEAT students!
Mid-Week Evening Courses: California law requires more than 8 hours and less than 16 hours of training for NEW, 1st time CCW CANDIDATES who aim to get their license.
Don’t be FOOLED into taking a quick 8 Hour Online Course. Your Initial CCW Training and all subsequent CCW Renewal Training will stay with you, the CCW License Holder FOREVER and WILL FOLLOW YOU TO COURT! Get the very best CCW Training Available. Contact Ken Clements and get proper training today!
· The cost for Initial (1st Time) California + Plus, 29 Additional States* CCW Course is $225.
· The cost for Renewal (Old Salty Shooters) of your California + Plus, 29 Additional States* CCW Course is $125.
States that Have Reciprocity with California
Alabama, Arkansas, Georgia, Idaho, Indiana, Michigan, Mississippi, Montana, New Hampshire, North Carolina, Ohio, South Dakota, Vermont, Virginia & Wisconsin.
States That Have "Restricted" * Reciprocity with California
(*) permitless carry must be at least 21 years old
Arizona, Alaska, Iowa, Kansas, Kentucky, Maine, Missouri, Nebraska, Oklahoma, Tennessee, Texas, Utah, West Virginia & Wyoming.
Our initial (1st Time) & Renewal CCW students MAY QUALIFY with ANY NUMBER of HANDGUNS they'd like... ALL FOR THE SAME TUITION.
The course covers firearms safety, state firearms law, the fundamentals of marksmanship, cover vs. concealment and proven "STREET SURVIVAL" concepts designed to help you during a violent encounter. Dry fire practice and visualizing violent scenarios are also covered.
I am certain you'll benefit from the cost savings, the vast USE of FORCE experience of the professional police firearms instructor, the high-level Street Survival & Defensive Shooting instruction, the curriculum, the instructional materials, the textbooks, and the friendly atmosphere.
The hours are 5 PM to 10 PM for two consecutive nights and you may opt to qualify with your handguns at any time once you've registered for the course. Most students wish to qualify on the following Thursday morning or afternoon. Students may also choose another date and time that fits our mutual schedules.
Note: Obviously, if a student can’t make it to class on one of the night’s sessions, they can pick up the class the next evening it's presented in rotation. We are flexible!
Prerequisite: The concealed carry of a handgun for personal self-defense is not an entry-level self-defense endeavor. CCW training is for experienced shooters who are at or near the “INTERMEDIATE LEVEL” of handgun safety, knowledge, skills & confidence.
At a minimum, students are encouraged to have taken a USCCA Basic Firearms Fundamentals Course or the NRA Basic Pistol Shooting Course or equivalent. We offer these courses several times per month.
Contact us for details. (714) 680-5500
OCSD CCW TRAINING PROVIDER INITIAL COURSE CURRICULUM
CALIFORNIA CONCEALED CARRY • COURSE SYLLABUS • INITIAL
COURSE TRAINING PRESENTED by KEN CLEMENTS, NRA CERTIFIED PISTOL INSTRUCTOR: 1202717; USCCA CERTIFIED INSTRUCTOR: 1202717 & NRA CERTIFIED POLICE FIREARMS INSTRUCTOR, POLICE FIREARMS & TACTICAL INSTRUCTOR: BREA POLICE DEPARTMENT, RETIRED.
CONCEALED CARRY INITIAL COURSE REQUIREMENTS
MINIMUM COURSE LENGTH: As part of the State of California requirements under AB 2103, which amends Penal Code § 26165, the course of training for issuance of a CCW License consists of a minimum of (8) hours, and not to exceed sixteen (16) hours, and shall include instruction on firearms safety and the law regarding the permissible use of a firearm.
0. INTRODUCTION: .25 hrs. Initial
• Course Agenda
• Statistics and Trends
•Oops Ouch! Firearms Safety
1. SELF-DEFENSE FIREARM BASICS: 1.0 hrs. Initial
• Universal safety rules
• Clearing a semi-automatic
• Clearing a revolver
• Defining a gun’s action
• Understanding revolvers
• Understanding semi-automatics
• Modern, striker-fired handguns
• Understanding magazines
• Selecting a handgun
• Ammunition components
• Ammunition care and storage
2. DEFENSIVE SHOOTING FUNDAMENTALS: 1.0 hrs. Initial
• Defensive shooting versus marksmanship
• Proper grip
• Shooting platform
• Aligning the muzzle to the target
• Unsighted fire, point shooting (slide 24 including interactive widget as appropriate)
• Flash sight picture
• Sighted fire
• Trigger control
• Follow through & Recovery
3. DEVELOPING A PERSONAL AND HOME PROTECTION PLAN: 1.25 hrs. Initial
• Defining a personal protection plan
• Why conflict avoidance is so important
• Situational awareness
• The color codes of awareness
• Areas to avoid
• Cover, concealment, and an exit strategy
• How a permit to carry fits
4. THE LEGAL USE OF FORCE: 1.25 hrs. Initial
• Introduction to AB 2103: New California Law Amends PC § 26165, Effective: January 1, 2019.
• Defining reasonable force and deadly force
• Detailed definitions of deadly force rules including scenarios
• What prosecutors will want to know
• Defending the home
• Defending property
5. VIOLENT ENCOUNTERS AND THEIR AFTERMATH: [1.5 hrs. Initial]
• Understanding fight or flight
• Effects of adrenaline and endorphins
• Recognizing a threat
• Issuing commands and evaluating options
• When we’re left with no other choice
• When the right to use deadly force ends
• The immediate aftermath
• Phone calls to make
• When the police arrive
• Statement to the police
• During and after your arrest
6. NOTORIOUS VIDEOS POTTY TRAINING - CUSSING & DISCUSSING! [1.0 hrs. Initial]
7. SUMMARY OF FIREARMS LAWS: [1.5 hrs. Initial]
• California Firearms Laws Summary
• Review: AB 2103 Amends Penal Code § 26165, Effective: January 1, 2019.
• Review of OCSD Policy 218
• Terms of Carry Concealed Weapon License
• Review: OCSD Minimum Standards: CCW Licensee
• Pertinent CCW Legal Updates
• OCSD & California Gun Law Supplements – Summary of California Firearms Laws
8. Q & A COURSE REVIEW, HANDGUN CHECK, WRITTEN & PRACTICAL EXAMS: [1.75 hrs. Initial]
• Q & A
• Course Review
• Handgun Check
• Written Examination
• Practical Application Shooting Examination
• After-Action Analysis / Hot Wash / Debrief on Key Topics Covered in This Course
9. GEAR AND GADGETS: [.5 hr. Initial]
• Hip holsters
• Paddle holsters
• Pocket holsters
• Inside the waistband holsters
• Tactical flashlights
• Guns safes and storage
10. BASIC AND ADVANCED SKILLS: [.5 hr. Initial]
• Creating a training program
• Dry firing
• Fundamental drill discussion
• Discussion of what’s next
11. LIVE FIRE RANGE QUALIFICATION: [1.5 hr. Initial]
• Handgun Qualification, etc.
• Graduation – Handout Course Completion Certificates
[Estimated Course Time Totals: 13 hrs. Initial]
Ken “KC” Clements, OCSD Authorized CCW Training Provider, Instructor & Range Master
2715 Saturn Street, Brea California 92812-6705
Office: (714) 680-5500 • Mobile: (714) 981-6900 • Fax: (714) 577-9990
• Website: https://5150HEAT.com/
• NRA Certified Pistol Instructor
• USCCA Certified Instructor
• NRA Certified Police Firearms Instructor
• NRA Certified Pistol Instructor
• Sacramento County Sheriff’s Department P.O.S.T. Firearms Instructor
• Police Academy Senior Tactical Officer
• Police Academy Instructor: Communications, Search & Seizure, Methods of Arrest & Officer Survival
• Police Firearms Tactics Instructor & Range Master
• 30-Years’ L.E.O. Experience
• Buena Park Police Department
• Brea Police Department
Expectations and Outcomes
What To Expect in A Concealed Handgun Class
The primary function of concealed handgun class is to ensure you have a thorough understanding of basic firearm safety, handgun storage, use of deadly force, plus California and other states’ firearm laws. You can expect to cover the following material in our concealed handgun class:
- How to safely load, unload, and maintain a handgun
- Transporting and storing handguns
- Avoiding the use of deadly force and when it is warranted
- Where you can and cannot carry a concealed handgun in your state
- States with reciprocity (other states where you can carry with a permit from your state)
- General marksmanship (aiming and shooting)
- Other laws governing concealed carry in your state
Advanced, Basic, Intermediate, Basic Life Support, CCW, Church / Business - Safety / Security, CPR / AED (Frist Aid for Lay Rescuers), D.R.A.W. Academy Courses, F.A.S.T. (First Aid for Sever Trauma), In Home Defense Training, Instructor Coach Training Courses, LEO / MIL / SEC Courses, Long Range Precision, NRA Courses, Private Classes (Group / Individual), Rifle, Scenario Based Training, Scenario Based Training (Simunitions, Man Marking Cartridge), Seminars / Lectures, Shotgun, Stop the Bleed, Tactical Casualty Care (TCCC / TECC), USCCA Courses, Virtual Simulation, Women's Only Courses
• QUALIFYING FIREARMS SAFETY & FUNCTION SURVEY FORM
• Assumption of the Risk and Waiver of Liability Relating to Coronavirus-COVID-19
• OC IndoorRange Release
• USCCA Student Registration Form
The instructor requires a copy of your Government Issued ID once you register.
Orange County CCW Handgun Check & Practical Shooting Examination/Qualification
The Course of Fire Overview
Prior to the live fire course, each handgun must be *checked for safe and mechanically sound condition. All safety considerations and precautions must be taken during live fire and weapon handling. The student must demonstrate shooting proficiency and safe technique for all weapons to be listed on the CCW license. The live fire course should be conducted after the classroom portion of the certification course.
Prior to Handgun Qualification, the student’s firearms will be inspected for the following:
Course of Fire
The course of fire utilized by the Sheriff’s Department is as follows:
The live fire course will utilize standard silhouette B-27 scoring targets placed 3, 5, and 7 yards from the shooter.
OCSD Directive - Effective Immediately:
The first handgun qualification will consist of shooting a complete 72-round qualification course of fire with a checked* handgun that will be listed on your CCW License.
- 24 rounds at 3 yards, (9’)
- 24 rounds at 5 yards, (15’)
- 24 rounds at 7 yards, (21’)
All subsequent handgun qualifications will consist of a 20-round qualification course of fire with the other checked* handgun(s) that will be listed on your CCW License.
- 10 rounds at 5 yards, (15’)
- 10 rounds at 7 yards, (21’)
A passing score of 70% is the minimum on this live fire course using the same weapon(s) that will be listed on the applicants CCW License. This updated handgun course of fire will be applied to both initial & renewal qualifications.
Shooters need to bring the following:
- Handgun(s) (checked)*
- 92 rounds of ammunition, (minimum)
- Extra magazines/speed loaders
- Ear & Eye protection (electronic preferred but NOT required)
- California Driver’s license or I.D. Card
- Ammo is usually available to purchase at the range, but shooters should bring extra rounds for each caliber & type of handgun.
Students must show proficiency in the following to pass the Live-Fire portion of the training requirement:
CCW License Renewal: Training will consist of a minimum of four hours of classroom instruction in addition to the time to instruct the Live-Fire and qualification.
· For the initial firearm qualification: target distances of 3, 5, and 7 yards.
· Students will fire 20 rounds at each distance using a B27 target.
Students must score a minimum of 70% hits on the target at each distance.