Alamo City Self Defense logo

TEXAS LICENSE TO CARRY COURSE

Official DPS Approved Course

Duration: 5 hours classroom, 1 hour range time

$75.00

Fee

Date Location Class Size Class Time Instructor Available Spaces
Register Now January 30 Saturday
San Antonio, TX
2 - 10 Students 8 to 3:30 Steve Maduro 10 Spaces Left
Register Now February 20 Saturday
San Antonio, TX
2 - 10 Students 8 to 3:30 Steve Maduro 10 Spaces Left
Register Now March 6 Saturday
San Antonio, TX
2 - 10 Students 8 to 3:30 Steve Maduro 10 Spaces Left
ShootingClasses.com target icon

Description

Effective March 1st, 2011, TX DPS requires that all Texas Concealed Handgun License Applicants obtain their fingerprints from L1. You cannot schedule an appointment until the TX DPS has received your application. To schedule an appointment, call 1-888-467-2080 or visit their website at https://www.identogo.com/

As of September 1, 2013, the Texas Concealed Handgun License Class is a Four to Six Hour Class, not including RANGE TIME. Our class will be approximately Five hours with range time.

As of January 1, 2016, the Concealed Handgun License (CHL) class is now called License to Carry (LTC) because Open Carry for Licensed individuals will become legal on this date.

scope icon

Topics Covered

Subjects Covered:

Concealed carry law
Where you can carry and where you cannot
When you can use force or deadly force
Legal implications of use of force or deadly force
Texas weapons laws
Non Violent dispute resolution
Firearms safety

certification icon

Expectations and Outcomes

Upon successful completion of the class and submission of the application materials, the state will issue you a license as soon as 60 days, assuming there is no legal disqualification.

course types icon

Types

CCW

course requirements icon

Documentation Requirements

Student must bring state issued Identification

The instructor requires a copy of your driver's license once you register.

requirements icon

Requirements

Handgun or Revolver, 50 rounds of ammunition, safety glasses, and hearing protection for use during range qualification. (Loaners PPE "may" be available upon request) It is no longer required to have your application packet before you begin class.