Archangel Firearm Training logo

Maryland Wear and Carry Permits

Permits for Civilians, Business Owners, Correctional Personnel, and Security Guards

Duration: 16 hours Classroom, 1 hour range

Date Location Class Size Class Time Instructor Availability
Register Now December 10 Saturday
2 Day Class
District Heights, MD
5 - 10 Students 9am to 4pm John Ayala Space Available
Register Now January 7 Saturday
2 Day Class
District Heights, MD
5 - 10 Students 9am to 4pm John Ayala Space Available
Register Now January 21 Saturday
2 Day Class
District Heights, MD
5 - 10 Students 9am to 4pm John Ayala Space Available
Register Now February 4 Saturday
2 Day Class
District Heights, MD
5 - 10 Students 9am to 4pm John Ayala Space Available
ShootingClasses.com target icon

Description

Note: After completing Course all students will receive a schedule for range certification. The range date will be on a week day.  If you can not come to the range on a week day please do not take this course. We do not go to the range on weekends. If you miss your range date we will change you an additional $50. for a new range date.

After you receive your range certification it is your responsibility to hold on to it. If you need a replacement copy the fee is $50.

Your range cerification is good for one year.  If you do not file it within the year of your date you will have to take the course over and pay the full class fee.

Payments can be made in person day of class or online
(Cash Only)

Our Maryland Wear and Carry Permit Training is conducted by MSP Qualified Handgun Instructors. This course satisfies the firearms training eligibility requirements for the Maryland Wear and Carry Permit. Course topics include:

 

  • Firearm safety

  • Handgun mechanisms and operation

  • Basic principles of marksmanship

  • Pistol care and maintenance

  • Situational awareness

  • Defensive shooting fundamentals

  • State firearm laws

  • Home firearm safety

 

This course requires live range training and qualification where students must demonstrate gun safety and proficiency, shooting a course of at least twenty-five rounds, from no further than fifteen yards with a minimum score of 70% accuracy.

Class Time: 16-hours
Range Time: 2-hours

Cost: $275


If you are brand new to shooting, or just getting back into the game, it is recommended that you participate in our Firearms Training Basic Class before taking the wear and carry couse or before heading to the range for WCP certification. Firearms Training Basic Class 8 hours of hands on instruction from Chief  John Ayala an USCCA and NRA certified instructor.


On July 5, 2022, Governor Hogan Directed the Maryland State Police to Suspend the ‘Good and Substantial Reason’ Standard For Wear and Carry Permits.
Action Pursuant to Supreme Court Ruling Striking Down Similar Provision in New York Law
 
Governor Larry Hogan issued the following statement:
 
“Over the course of my administration, I have consistently supported the right of law-abiding citizens to own and carry firearms, while enacting responsible and common sense measures to keep guns out of the hands of criminals and the mentally ill.
 
"June 2022, the U.S. Supreme Court struck down a provision in New York law pertaining to handgun permitting that is virtually indistinguishable from Maryland law. In light of the ruling and to ensure compliance with the Constitution, I am directing the Maryland State Police to immediately suspend utilization of the ‘good and substantial reason’ standard when reviewing applications for Wear and Carry Permits. It would be unconstitutional to continue enforcing this provision in state law. There is no impact on other permitting requirements and protocols.
 
"Today’s action is in line with actions taken by other states in response to the recent ruling.”
 
The Maryland State Police Licensing Division is in the process of updating the Licensing Portal to reflect these changes. Until these updates are complete, applicants submitting a Wear and Carry Permit application are directed to select “Personal Protection / Category Not Listed Above” as their “Handgun Permit Category. Applicants are not required to attach documents to the “PERSONAL PROTECTION DOCUMENTATION” section on the “Upload Documents” page of the Wear and Carry Permit application.
 
      • ??LD-HPU-22-002 Suspension of Good and Substantial Reason

On July 28th, Maryland State Police (MSP) announced that due to the ongoing COVID-19 crisis, they amended their regulations to allow Qualified Handgun Instructors (QHI) to conduct the classroom instruction portion of Wear and Carrytraining by real time, two-way virtual platforms.

During these times of uncertainty, many of our friends, family, and acquaintances are choosing to exercise their Second Amendment rights for the first time. Unfortunately, the process to get trained for an Wear to Carry to access their right to acquire a handgun is made more cumbersome by the present public health situation and some individuals have health issues that preclude meeting with an instructor. This important change helps them navigate this barrier while protecting the health of all involved.

This training class is open to anyone not legally prohibited from owning, possessing, or having access to firearms. Participating in and passing this training course does not guarantee you will be issued a Wear and Carry Permit in the state of Maryland, or any other state or jurisdiction. Permit issuance is solely at the discretion of the Maryland State Police. Initial permit training is 16 hours and renewal training is 8 hours and either can be accomplished in this training class,

Wear and Carry Permits may be issued to any adult (18 years of age or over) who meets the following criteria:

  1. An applicant between 18 and 21 years of age may only be issued a wear and carry permit to possess a regulated firearm required for employment. - P.S. 5-133 (d)(2)(v)
  2. Has not been convicted of a felony or a misdemeanor for which a sentence of imprisonment for more than one year has been imposed; or convicted of a criminal offense for which you could have been sentenced to more than 2 years incarceration.
  3. Has not been convicted of a crime involving the possession, use, or distribution of a controlled dangerous substance;
  4. Is not presently an alcoholic, addict, or habitual user of a controlled dangerous substance unless under legitimate medical direction;
  5. Based on an investigation, has not exhibited a propensity for violence or instability that may reasonably render the person’s possession of a handgun a danger to the person or others;
  6. As of October 1, 2013, has successfully completed the Maryland State Police approved firearms training course within 2 years prior to submitting the original or renewal application. 

As of October 1, 2013, all new, renewal, and subsequent applicants must successfully complete required firearms training, within 2 years, prior to submitting the application. 

As of October 1, 2016 Fingerprints will no longer be required for renewal application submissions.  Fingerprints are still required for all initial/origin?al Handgun Permit applications. (MD SB208 2016)

As of October 1, 2019, all Wear and Carry permit applications (original, renewal and subsequent) and requests (modification and replacement) must be submitted online in the Licensing Portal. All documentation requirements and any clarifications you feel may assist investigators in processing your applications must be uploaded and electronically attached to the application in the Licensing Portal. You may access the Licensing Portal by clicking the link below:

Licensing Portal

The minimum documentation required for the acceptance of the Wear and Carry permit application are:

  • Color passport-size photograph  
  • Electronic fingerprint transmission receipt
  • Certificate of Handgun Training or documentation of exemption  

 

Please allow 90 days for completion of the application process.

For further guidance in regard to submitting a Wear and Carry permit application or request please refer to the Wear and Carry Portal Users Guide.

All fees will be collected electronically at the time of application submission in the Licensing Portal. Acceptable forms of payment include Visa and MasterCard.

Original/Initial – $75.00  Fingerprint Fees not included
Renewal – $50.00 – Fingerprints No Longer Required
Subsequent – $50.00 – Fingerprint Fees not included
Replacement/Modification – $10.00 – Fingerprints not required

Active/Retired Law Enforcement Officers of this State or a County/Municipality (PS 5-304) – $0.00

 

The initial Handgun Permit expires on the last day of the holder’s birth month following two (2) years after the date the permit is issued. Permits that have been modified or are a duplicate expire on the date provided on the initial permit.

A Handgun Permit may be renewed for successive periods of three (3) years each if, at the time of an application for renewal, the applicant possesses the qualifications for the issuance of a permit and pays the renewal fee as established in the subtitle.

The renewal process is the responsibility of the applicant and should be started no less than 90 business days from expiration of the permit. Timely renewal is the responsibility of the permit holder. The Licensing Portal will only send out renewal reminders for Wear and Carry permit applications that have been submitted through the online portal.

It is the permit holder’s responsibility to notify the Licensing Division of address changes, in writing, within 30 days of any change. You must mail this change to the same address as you would mail an application.

Restriction on the wear, carry and transport of handguns and firearms in certain places appear throughout Maryland law and regulations.  Below are statutes and regulations detailing the handgun and firearm restrictions.  This list should not be considered all-inclusive.  

1. On school property (CR 4-102)

2. Within 1,000 feet of a demonstration in a public place (CR 4-208)

3. In legislative buildings (SG 2-1702)

4. Aboard aircraft (TR 5-1008)

5. In lodging establishments where the innkeeper reasonably believes individuals possess property that may be dangerous to other individuals, such as firearms or explosives (BR 15-203)

6. On dredge boats, other than two 10 gauge shotguns (NR 4-1013)

7. In or around State-owned public buildings and grounds (COMAR 04.05.01.03)

8. On Chesapeake Forest Lands (COMAR 08.01.07.14)

9. In State Forests (COMAR 08.07.01.04)

10. In State Parks (COMAR 08.07.06.04)

11. In State Highway Rest Areas, unless properly secured within vehicle (COMAR 11.04.07.12)

12. In community adult rehabilitation centers (COMAR 12.02.03.10)

13. In child care centers, except for small centers located in residences (COMAR 13A.16.10.04)?

 

scope icon

Topics Covered

This 16 hour, 50 round live fire course is requirement to obtain the Maryland Permit to Wear and Carry Permit (CFP).  In addition to the minimum requirements issued by the Maryland State Police this course will:

  • Cover the fundamentals of handgun safety, operation and marksmanship
  • Discuss Maryland, Utah and Federal gun law
  • Review self-defense law
  • Provide the knowledge and skills necessary to effectively carry a holstered, concealed firearm on a regular basis
  • Teach fundamental and also practical techniques for efficient and effective presentation of a handgun from a holster
  • Provide entry level training for reloads and also malfunctions
  • Discuss mindset, awareness, shoot/don't shoot scenarios, etc...

**While this course satisfies all the requirements as issued by the Maryland State Police, Instructor John Ayala does not generally guarantee that the applicant will receive the Maryland Permit to Carry a Handgun.

 

certification icon

Expectations and Outcomes

Students will receive a certificate of complation at the end of the course.

course types icon

Types

CCW

course requirements icon

Documentation Requirements

To apply for a Maryland Wear/Carry Handgun Permit (WCHP):

1.            Go to the Maryland State Police Licensing Portal by following the link:

licensingportal.mdsp.maryland.gov

2.  Click “Create My Account” (or “Log In” if you already have an account).

3.  Once your account is activated, click “Start HGP” to begin your application.

4.  Complete all components to the application.

All required items must be submitted electronically. These items include:

             A copy of your firearms training certificate

             Photo

             Fingerprint receipt number

             Any supporting documentation for the application

You will be prompted to attach your items at the correct time.



Training Location 
5758 Silver Hill RD
District Height, MD 20747

 **Maryland Wear and Carry (Handgun Permit) Update**

On July 5, 2022, Governor Hogan Directed the Maryland State Police to Suspend the ‘Good and Substantial Reason’ Standard For Wear and Carry Permits.
Action Pursuant to Supreme Court Ruling Striking Down Similar Provision in New York Law
 
Governor Larry Hogan issued the following statement:
 
“Over the course of my administration, I have consistently supported the right of law-abiding citizens to own and carry firearms, while enacting responsible and common sense measures to keep guns out of the hands of criminals and the mentally ill.
 
"Last month, the U.S. Supreme Court struck down a provision in New York law pertaining to handgun permitting that is virtually indistinguishable from Maryland law. In light of the ruling and to ensure compliance with the Constitution, I am directing the Maryland State Police to immediately suspend utilization of the ‘good and substantial reason’ standard when reviewing applications for Wear and Carry Permits. It would be unconstitutional to continue enforcing this provision in state law. There is no impact on other permitting requirements and protocols.
 
"Today’s action is in line with actions taken by other states in response to the recent ruling.”
 
The Maryland State Police Licensing Division is in the process of updating the Licensing Portal to reflect these changes. Until these updates are complete, applicants submitting a Wear and Carry Permit application are directed to select “Personal Protection / Category Not Listed Above” as their “Handgun Permit Category. Applicants are not required to attach documents to the “PERSONAL PROTECTION DOCUMENTATION” section on the “Upload Documents” page of the Wear and Carry Permit application.
 


Who Can Get a Maryland Carry Permit?

You have probably heard the MYTH that it is impossible to obtain a concealed carry permit in Maryland.

Many people qualify for a carry permit and don’t even know it!

Although the process can be difficult, we have helped many of our members obtain a carry permit.

This informational guide can start you down the path to carrying legally in Maryland.


Why Citizens Should Carry 

In Maryland, there is no procedure to immediately obtain a carry permit if you are ever threatened. If you need a permit right away, you are already 6-9 months too late. That is how long it usually takes to navigate Maryland's extensive application process, even if you are in immediate danger. If you can, obtain a carry permit now, so you have it should you ever encounter the need for armed self defense.

 

Are you Eligible for a Permit?

Maryland is a may issue state unlike the vast majority of other states in our country. Maryland law requires you to provide a "Good and Substantial" (G&S) reason before issuing an individual a carry permit. G&S is the greatest hurdle for most citizens. This is what MSI is working to change. We need your help as a member!

The Maryland State Police - Licensing Division (MSP-LD) currently recognizes the following categories as G&S:

Businesses/Employees with Cash-flow
Do you own or work for a business where you handle funds (cash, checks, or electronic) or other valuables? You might be eligible to carry.

Assumed Risk Professionals
Does your profession place you at risk greater than that of other professions, such as judges, prosecutors, or security guards? You might be eligible to carry.

Threatened or Victimized Individuals
Do you have documented reports of threats, crimes, or attacks against you? You might be eligible to carry.

Applying outside of these few recognized G&S reasons usually results in a denied or rejected application.

Wear and Carry MD Gun Laws 

Maryland Concealed Carry Gun Laws: WCHP & Reciprocity Map | USCCA(Last Updated 05/18/2021) (usconcealedcarry.com)


Firearms Safety Act of 2013

2013 Regular Session - Senate Bill 281 Chapter (maryland.gov)

 
Who Should Apply?
A person may not purchase, rent, or receive a handgun after October 1, 2013 unless they possess a valid Handgun Qualification License (HQL) issued by the Maryland State Police or qualify for exemption status.

States That Honor Maryland Concealed Carry
  1. Alabama
  2. Alaska – Must be of legal age to carry, and state ID required. Also honors state issued concealed carry permit.
  3. Arizona – Must be of legal age to carry, and state ID required. Also honors state issued concealed carry permit.
  4. Arkansas
  5. Idaho
  6. Indiana
  7. Iowa
  8. Kansas – Must be of legal age to carry, and state ID required. Also honors state issued concealed carry permit.
  9. Kentucky
  10. Maine
  11. Michigan
  12. Mississippi – Must be of legal age to carry, and state ID required. Also honors state issued concealed carry permit.
  13. Missouri – Must be of legal age to carry, and state ID required. Also honors state issued concealed carry permit.
  14. Montana
  15. New Hampshire
  16. North Carolina
  17. Ohio
  18. Oklahoma
  19. South Dakota
  20. Tennessee
  21. Texas
  22. Utah
  23. Vermont
  24. Virginia
  25. West Virginia
  26. Wisconsin

Exceptions to possession of the HQL License

  1. A Licensed Firearms Manufacturer.
  2. Active law enforcement officer or a person retired in good standing from a law enforcement agency of the United States (Federal Law Enforcement), the State, or a local law enforcement agency of the State.
  3. Active or retired member of the United States Armed Forces or National Guard and possesses a valid military identification card.
  4. A person purchasing, renting or receiving an antique, curio or relic as defined in federal law.
  5. Maryland licensed firearms dealers. (Sole Proprietors)

Required to have the HQL, but exempt from the training component

  1. Someone who completed a firearms safety training course approved by the Secretary of the Department of Maryland State Police.
  2. Has completed a course of instruction in the competency and safety of firearms as prescribed under Natural Resources Article, §10-301.1, Annotated Code of Maryland. Application for the Maryland Department of Natural Resources Hunter Safety Course Certificate can be obtained from here and may be used in lieu of Qualified Handgun Instruction.
  3. Is currently a qualified handgun instructor.
  4. Is an honorably discharged member of the armed forces of the United States or National Guard.
  5. Is an employee of an armored car company who has a handgun permit issued by MSP.
  6. Lawfully owns a regulated firearm, you do not have to complete the training to apply for the Handgun Qualification License.

In accordance with the Firearm Safety Act of 2013, individuals who are voluntarily admitted to an inpatient psychiatric facility (either state, private or acute general), for a period of 30 consecutive days or more, or involuntarily certified and retained by an Administrative Law Judge may have to surrender their firearms and will be prohibited from owning or possessing a firearm unless an individual is granted relief from firearm disqualification. MDH makes available to persons who are prohibited from possessing certain firearms a process to apply for relief from these prohibitions.

WHAT'S NOT INCLUDED: 

*The student is responsible for range fees, application fees, fingerprinting fees, and any other fees required by the State of Maryland.    

*The student will supply his/her own firearm, eye/hearing protection, holster, 2 magazines, and 50 rounds of ammunition. Firearms and ammo are available for those who have not yet purchased a handgun. 

All students must pay: 

$40 for Ammo (Students can provide Your own FMJ ammo must be 50 rounds) 

$40 range fee, Targets, eys and ear protaction.

$10 gun rental (Students can provide their own weapon)

If you did not add on the above fees at the time of booking. The fees must be paid the day we are at the range. Cash, Zelle or Apple pay only. Cashapp, credit or debit cards will not be accepted.

Permits are approved at the discretion of the Maryland State Police.

Safe Firearms Storage 

SafeFirearmsStorage_V7.pdf

Maryland State Police Fee

Acceptable methods of payment include Visa or MasterCard

Original/Initial – $50.00 - Fingerprint Fees not included
Renewal – $20.00 - Fingerprint not required

Replacement/Duplicate - $20.00

Wear and Carry - $75

 
As of January 1, 2021, the Maryland State Police Licensing Division has discontinued printing Handgun Qualification Licenses (HQL). All HQL applicants approved on or after January 1, 2021, will receive, via email, a notification that the application has been reviewed and approved.  Approved applications will have the HQL attached to the email. Applicants have the option of printing the HQL if they desire a paper copy of the license.  This paper license, or an electronic copy of the license, must be presented to a dealer or any other person, prior to selling, renting, or transferring a handgun, in accordance with MD Public Safety §5-117.1 and COMAR 29.03.01.06.
 

requirements icon

Requirements

Payments can be made in person day of class or online
(Cash Only)

Wear and Carry Permits may be issued to any adult (18 years of age or over) who meets the following criteria:

  1. An applicant between 18 and 21 years of age may only be issued a wear and carry permit to possess a regulated firearm required for employment. - P.S. 5-133 (d)(2)(v)
  2. Has not been convicted of a felony or a misdemeanor for which a sentence of imprisonment for more than one year has been imposed; or convicted of a criminal offense for which you could have been sentenced to more than 2 years incarceration.
  3. Has not been convicted of a crime involving the possession, use, or distribution of a controlled dangerous substance;
  4. Is not presently an alcoholic, addict, or habitual user of a controlled dangerous substance unless under legitimate medical direction;
  5. Based on an investigation, has not exhibited a propensity for violence or instability that may reasonably render the person’s possession of a handgun a danger to the person or others;
  6. As of October 1, 2013, has successfully completed the Maryland State Police approved firearms training course within 2 years prior to submitting the original or renewal application. 

As of October 1, 2013, all new, renewal, and subsequent applicants must successfully complete required firearms training, within 2 years, prior to submitting the application. 

As of October 1, 2016 Fingerprints will no longer be required for renewal application submissions.  Fingerprints are still required for all initial/origin?al Handgun Permit applications. (MD SB208 2016)