Archangel Firearm Training logo

D.C, M.D. & Utah CCW Permit Class

Permit to Carry Multi-Jurisdiction

Duration: 16 hours Classroom, 2 hours range

Date Location Class Size Class Time Instructor Availability
Register Now January 7 Saturday
2 Day Class
District Heights, MD
10 - 20 Students 9am to 4pm Saturday & Sunday John Ayala Space Available
Register Now January 21 Saturday
2 Day Class
District Heights, MD
10 - 20 Students 9am to 4pm Saturday & Sunday John Ayala Space Available
Register Now February 4 Saturday
2 Day Class
District Heights, MD
10 - 20 Students 9am to 4pm Saturday & Sunday John Ayala Space Available
ShootingClasses.com target icon

Description

In Person
PAY $200 ONLINE TODAY
PAY the balance of $200 the day class start
cash, apple pay, zelle
TOTAL $400

ON LINE CLASS 
PAY $200 ONLINE TODAY
PAY THE balance of $200 at the range before
receiving range course certification.
cash, apple pay, zelle
TOTAL $400

WHAT'S NOT INCLUDED: 

*The student is responsible for range fees, application fees, fingerprinting fees, and any other fees required by the Metroplitan Police Department Firearms Registration Section.    

*The student will supply his/her own firearm, eye/hearing protection, holster, 2 magazines, and 20 rounds of ammunition. Firearms and ammo are available for those who have not yet purchased a handgun.

This course is designed for those who are beginner students looking to familiarize themselves with the bare essentials of properly handling, transporting, storing and shooting a handgun. . Upon completion of this course students will gain the certification needed in order to obtain the DC, Concealed To Carry permit. During these times of uncertainty, many of our friends, family, and acquaintances are choosing to exercise their Second Amendment rights for the first time.

If you are brand new to shooting, or just getting back into the game, it is recommended that you participate in our Firearms Training Basic Class before taking the concealed carry course or before heading to the range for ccw certification. Firearms Training Basic Class 8 hours of hands on instruction from Chief John Ayala an USCCA, NRA, Maryland and DC certified instructor.

DC + MD + VA MULTI-STATE CONCEALED CARRY PERMIT TRAINING COURSE 

Legally carry in over 32 states - including the District of Columbia and Maryland with this Multi-State Concealed Carry Training Course Bundle!

Upon successful completion of this course, you will receive:

– District of Columbia Concealed Carry Pistol License Course Completion Certificate
– Maryland Wear and Carry Permit Training Qualification Certificate
– DC and MD have reciprocity with VA

Class Time: 16-hours
Range Time: 2-hours

Training Location 

Penn Station Shoppin Center
5758 Silver Hill RD
District Height, MD 20747


NO GUNS OR AMMO ALLOWED IN CLASSROOM
NO CELL PHONE USE ALLOWED IN CLASS ROOM
NO IN AND OUT OF CLASSROOM AFTER CLASS BEGANS

Note:
After completing Course all students will receive a schedule for range certification. The range date will be on a week day.  If you can not come to the range on a week day please do not take this course. We do not go to the range on weekends. If you miss your range date we will change you an additional $50. for a new range date.

After you receive your range certification it is your responsibility to hold on to it. If you need a replacement copy the fee is $50.

Your range cerification is good for one year.  If you do not file it within the year of your date you will have to take the course over and pay the full class fee.

scope icon

Topics Covered

If you are brand new to shooting, or just getting back into the game, it is recommended that you participate in our Firearms Training Basic Class before taking the concealed carry/wear and carry couse or before heading to the range for ccw/WCP certification. Firearms Training Basic Class 8 hours of hands on instruction from Chief  John Ayala an USCCA and NRA certified instructor.

  • Instruction in the fundamentals of pistol use. (The care, cleaning, maintenance, loading, unloading, and storage of pistols)
  • Instruction in the legal aspects of firearm possession, carry and use, including the rules governing the use of deadly force in the District of Columbia. 
  • Instructions to trainins concerning LAW OF SELF-DEFENSE
  • When to Use Deadly Force
  • Self-Defense Scenarios
  • Knowledge of how to operate your firearm
  • Understand common nomenclature and range commands
  • Knowledge of all safety rules

Inside a vehicle, the gun should be in a compartment separate from the driver’s compartment while also separating the firearm and the ammunition. It should be in a locked container and it should not be in the glove compartment or console.

Essentially, people in Maryland should transport the gun in a safety locked box or a mounted safety locked box, not in the driver’s compartment or within the driver’s immediate control. It could even be in the trunk. The trunk could have certain safes or locked boxes built in, which is common for hunters. They want to have a place to safely store a rifle and when they are going somewhere to hunt.

It is recommended to move out of the way in order to ensure that firearms are not in a zip-locked bag or a transport case. The case itself has to be separate, even disassembled if possible, and kept separate from the ammunitions. An individual should store it at the furthest end of the vehicle as far away from the driver as possible. Alternatively, the individual could put the firearm under the rear seat or mounted on the rear of that back seat so no one can grab it while driving a vehicle.

When a person is literally not going to and from the place they purchased it, and from a range or to and from a business establishment where they are allowed to carry it, there are exceptions. They include going to hunt, training, certification, safety class. The person may also be sponsored to have a weapon. There is really no other reason to have it on them.

An individual cannot transport firearms on public transportation because they are going to be in public around other people.

An example of someone who is never allowed to transport a firearm in Maryland is anyone with a prior felony conviction. If they do unlawfully transport a firearm, the law will prosecute them not only for the actual wear, transport, and carry but also for having a disqualifier, which is being in possession of a firearm as a convicted felon.

There is a good amount of crossover in terms of wear, transport and carry unlawful carry of a firearm punishments. An individual has to be very careful as to where they into the category and how the penalties could affect them.

For example, a handgun offense, the unlawful wearing or carrying is 3 years minimum. On a second offense, the punishment is 10 years to 30 years. They are all the same for first offenses and basic for either possessing or unlawfully possessing. The penalties increase if the handgun itself is stolen.

If the gun owner is stopped while driving into Maryland, and disclose that they do have a firearm to the police who was stopping them, they will be arrested. That means the person must return to the State of Maryland later because our penalties are much more stringent than others, especially surrounding states like Pennsylvania, Virginia, and West Virginia.

In states where the carry conceal licensing permits are distinctly different than in Maryland, a person cannot just carry conceal – even the exception has made it illegal for law enforcement, both current and former law enforcement on state and federal levels, or for the military to do this.

certification icon

Expectations and Outcomes

At the end of the course Students will receive the certification to receive their CCL prermit and a Certifacate of complation.

course types icon

Types

CCW

course requirements icon

Documentation Requirements

WHAT'S NOT INCLUDED: 

*The student is responsible for range fees, application fees, fingerprinting fees, and any other fees required by the Metroplitan Police Department Firearms Registration Section. Maryland State Police.

*The student will supply his/her own firearm, eye/hearing protection, holster, 2 magazines, and 20 rounds of ammunition. Firearms and ammo are available for those who have not yet purchased a handgun.

Note:
After completing Course all students will receive a schedule for range certification. The range date will be on a week day.  If you can not come to the range on a week day please do not take this course. We do not go to the range on weekends. If you miss your range date we will change you an additional $50. for a new range date.

After you receive your range certification it is your responsibility to hold on to it. If you need a replacement copy the fee is $50.

Your range cerification is good for one year.  If you do not file it within the year of your date you will have to take the course over and pay the full class fee.



You must bring the following items when you apply for your DC permit:

1.            A completed application. Note there is a $75 application fee. If your fingerprints are         not on file, you will be required to pay $35.

2.            An accurate copy of your driver’s license, state ID, or photo page of your passport.

3.            Two bills with your name and address.

 

To apply for a Maryland Wear/Carry Handgun Permit (WCHP):

1.            Go to the Maryland State Police Licensing Portal by following the link:

licensingportal.mdsp.maryland.gov

2.  Click “Create My Account” (or “Log In” if you already have an account).

3.  Once your account is activated, click “Start HGP” to begin your application.

4.  Complete all components to the application.

All required items must be submitted electronically. These items include:

             A copy of your firearms training certificate

             Photo

             Fingerprint receipt number

             Any supporting documentation for the application

You will be prompted to attach your items at the correct time.



Training Requirements: 
 

All students must be 21 years or older. Training is 16 hours of classroom training and at least 2 hours of range training from a Metropolitan Police Department (MPD) certified firearms training instructor. (John Ayala)  

Safe Firearms Storage 

SafeFirearmsStorage_V7.pdf

DC Gun Laws 

District of Columbia DC Concealed Carry Gun Laws: Reciprocity | USCCA(Last Updated 11/11/2020) (usconcealedcarry.com)

INSTRUCTIONS TO TRAINERS CONCERNING LAW OF SELF-DEFENSE

District Law Pertaining to Self Defense.pdf (dc.gov)

Students are to report to Maryland Small Arms. A text will be sent to you for schedule time. 

Maryland Small Arms Range, Inc. 

9801 Fallard Court 

Upper Marlboro, MD 20772 

WHAT'S NOT INCLUDED: 

*The student is responsible for range fees, application fees, fingerprinting fees, and any other fees required by the Metroplitan Police Department Firearms Registration Section.    

*The student will supply his/her own firearm, eye/hearing protection, holster, 3 magazines, and 50 rounds of ammunition. Firearms and ammo are available for those who have not yet purchased a handgun. 

All students must pay: 

$20 for Ammo (Students can provide Your own FMJ ammo must be 20 rounds) 

$40 range fee, Targets, Ear & Eyes Protection 

$10 gun rental (Students can provide their own weapon)

If you did not add on the above fees at the time of booking. The fees must be paid the day we are at the range. Cash, Zelle or Apple pay only. Cashapp, credit or debit cards will not be accepted.

Permits are approved at the discretion of the Metroplitan Police Department Firearms Registration Section .

Any students who come to Maryland Small Arms Smelling like marijuana or alcohol will not be certified. 

WHAT NOT TO WEAR TO THE RANGE

  • Clothes you don’t want to get dirty – CLP and grease can ruin fabric
  • Flip-flops, sandals or open-toed shoes
  • Heavy clothing that weighs you down or overheats you
  • Short shorts
  • Tank tops or spaghetti strap shirts
  • V-neck or low-cut shirts
  • Anything that interferes with safety

Federal Firearms Licensee (FFL) 

DC Security Associates (DCSA) 

1413 K Street, NW, 10th Floor 

Washington, DC 20005 

(202) 964-2010 

Email: contactus@dcsallc.com 

Website: www.dcsallc.com 

Please click the link below and follow the instructions to get started with your firearms transfer. 

DCSA (https://www.dcsallc.com/firearms-transfers


G & D FFL

1050 Connecticut Ave, NW Suite 500
Washington, DC 20005

(202) 772-1097

contactus@gandffl.com

https://www.ganddffl.com/

Please click the link below and follow the instructions to get started with your firearms transfer. 

Transfer Steps | G and D (ganddffl.com)

Application Process: 

The process can take up to 90 days.

Appointment for DC Concealed Carry 

An application must be submitted in person at MPD Headquarters only. 

Metropolitan Police Department Headquarters (Main Entrance) 

300 Indiana Avenue, NW, Room 3058 

Washington, DC 20001 

Nearest Metro Stop: Judiciary Square (4th Street Exit) 

Hours: Monday-Friday, 9 am – 5 pm

Applications for a Concealed Carry License -- both new and renewals -- are below.

Additionally, you may be able to complete Concealed Carry and HR-218 Renewal Requests ONLINE by visiting the MPD e-Commerce Portal

 

  1. Instructions for Submitting an Application for a Concealed Carry Pistol License
  2. Concealed Carry Pistol License Application

 

PLEASE NOTE: You must submit this application in person. Please call (202) 671-6705 for an appointment.

If you have any questions, please contact the Firearms Registration Branch at (202) 727-4275.

 

Attachment(s): 

Concealed Carry Pistol License RENEWAL Application (3/13/2020) - 42.6 KB (docx)

 

Click below to make Concealed Carry/fingerprint appt 

https://booknow.appointment-plus.com/cxxrrtcy

 

If you are denied your concealed carry permit:  

You can appeal by emailing cplrb@dc.gov.  


**Maryland Wear and Carry (Handgun Permit) Update**


Who Can Get a Maryland Carry Permit?

You have probably heard the MYTH that it is impossible to obtain a concealed carry permit in Maryland.

Many people qualify for a carry permit and don’t even know it!

Although the process can be difficult, we have helped many of our members obtain a carry permit.

This informational guide can start you down the path to carrying legally in Maryland.


Why Citizens Should Carry 

In Maryland, there is no procedure to immediately obtain a carry permit if you are ever threatened. If you need a permit right away, you are already 6-9 months too late. That is how long it usually takes to navigate Maryland's extensive application process, even if you are in immediate danger. If you can, obtain a carry permit now, so you have it should you ever encounter the need for armed self defense.

 

Are you Eligible for a Permit?

Maryland is a may issue state unlike the vast majority of other states in our country. Maryland law requires you to provide a "Good and Substantial" (G&S) reason before issuing an individual a carry permit. G&S is the greatest hurdle for most citizens. This is what MSI is working to change. We need your help as a member!

The Maryland State Police - Licensing Division (MSP-LD) currently recognizes the following categories as G&S:

Businesses/Employees with Cash-flow
Do you own or work for a business where you handle funds (cash, checks, or electronic) or other valuables? You might be eligible to carry.

Assumed Risk Professionals
Does your profession place you at risk greater than that of other professions, such as judges, prosecutors, or security guards? You might be eligible to carry.

Threatened or Victimized Individuals
Do you have documented reports of threats, crimes, or attacks against you? You might be eligible to carry.

Applying outside of these few recognized G&S reasons usually results in a denied or rejected application.

Wear and Carry MD Gun Laws 

Maryland Concealed Carry Gun Laws: WCHP & Reciprocity Map | USCCA(Last Updated 05/18/2021) (usconcealedcarry.com)

Firearms Safety Act of 2013

2013 Regular Session - Senate Bill 281 Chapter (maryland.gov)

 
Who Should Apply?
A person may not purchase, rent, or receive a handgun after October 1, 2013 unless they possess a valid Handgun Qualification License (HQL) issued by the Maryland State Police or qualify for exemption status.

States That Honor Maryland Concealed Carry
  1. Alabama
  2. Alaska – Must be of legal age to carry, and state ID required. Also honors state issued concealed carry permit.
  3. Arizona – Must be of legal age to carry, and state ID required. Also honors state issued concealed carry permit.
  4. Arkansas
  5. Idaho
  6. Indiana
  7. Iowa
  8. Kansas – Must be of legal age to carry, and state ID required. Also honors state issued concealed carry permit.
  9. Kentucky
  10. Maine
  11. Michigan
  12. Mississippi – Must be of legal age to carry, and state ID required. Also honors state issued concealed carry permit.
  13. Missouri – Must be of legal age to carry, and state ID required. Also honors state issued concealed carry permit.
  14. Montana
  15. New Hampshire
  16. North Carolina
  17. Ohio
  18. Oklahoma
  19. South Dakota
  20. Tennessee
  21. Texas
  22. Utah
  23. Vermont
  24. Virginia
  25. West Virginia
  26. Wisconsin

Exceptions to possession of the HQL License

  1. A Licensed Firearms Manufacturer.
  2. Active law enforcement officer or a person retired in good standing from a law enforcement agency of the United States (Federal Law Enforcement), the State, or a local law enforcement agency of the State.
  3. Active or retired member of the United States Armed Forces or National Guard and possesses a valid military identification card.
  4. A person purchasing, renting or receiving an antique, curio or relic as defined in federal law.
  5. Maryland licensed firearms dealers. (Sole Proprietors)

Required to have the HQL, but exempt from the training component

  1. Someone who completed a firearms safety training course approved by the Secretary of the Department of Maryland State Police.
  2. Has completed a course of instruction in the competency and safety of firearms as prescribed under Natural Resources Article, §10-301.1, Annotated Code of Maryland. Application for the Maryland Department of Natural Resources Hunter Safety Course Certificate can be obtained from here and may be used in lieu of Qualified Handgun Instruction.
  3. Is currently a qualified handgun instructor.
  4. Is an honorably discharged member of the armed forces of the United States or National Guard.
  5. Is an employee of an armored car company who has a handgun permit issued by MSP.
  6. Lawfully owns a regulated firearm, you do not have to complete the training to apply for the Handgun Qualification License.

In accordance with the Firearm Safety Act of 2013, individuals who are voluntarily admitted to an inpatient psychiatric facility (either state, private or acute general), for a period of 30 consecutive days or more, or involuntarily certified and retained by an Administrative Law Judge may have to surrender their firearms and will be prohibited from owning or possessing a firearm unless an individual is granted relief from firearm disqualification. MDH makes available to persons who are prohibited from possessing certain firearms a process to apply for relief from these prohibitions.

WHAT'S NOT INCLUDED: 

*The student is responsible for range fees, application fees, fingerprinting fees, and any other fees required by the State of Maryland.    

*The student will supply his/her own firearm, eye/hearing protection, holster, 2 magazines, and 50 rounds of ammunition. Firearms and ammo are available for those who have not yet purchased a handgun. 

All students must pay: 

$40 for Ammo (Students can provide Your own FMJ ammo must be 50 rounds) 

$40 range fee, Targets, eys and ear protaction.

$10 gun rental (Students can provide their own weapon)

If you did not add on the above fees at the time of booking. The fees must be paid the day we are at the range. Cash, Zelle or Apple pay only. Cashapp, credit or debit cards will not be accepted.

Permits are approved at the discretion of the Maryland State Police.

Safe Firearms Storage 

SafeFirearmsStorage_V7.pdf

Maryland State Police Fee

Acceptable methods of payment include Visa or MasterCard

Original/Initial – $50.00 - Fingerprint Fees not included
Renewal – $20.00 - Fingerprint not required

Replacement/Duplicate - $20.00

Wear and Carry - $75

 
As of January 1, 2021, the Maryland State Police Licensing Division has discontinued printing Handgun Qualification Licenses (HQL). All HQL applicants approved on or after January 1, 2021, will receive, via email, a notification that the application has been reviewed and approved.  Approved applications will have the HQL attached to the email. Applicants have the option of printing the HQL if they desire a paper copy of the license.  This paper license, or an electronic copy of the license, must be presented to a dealer or any other person, prior to selling, renting, or transferring a handgun, in accordance with MD Public Safety §5-117.1 and COMAR 29.03.01.06.



USCCA Membership

Join the USCCA today for the peace-of-mind trusted by 500,000 Americans. Don't risk your life and livelihood. Join now to discover your exclusive member benefits!

Family Protection · Defending Family · Critical Response Team

https://www.usconcealedcarry.com/referral?id=MDAxMGEwMDAwMURtSHVPQUFW&tID=5bf43111b0cd6

 

News Link

Man Cleaning Gun Accidentally Fires, Killing Neighbor in DC – NBC4 Washington (nbcwashington.com)

DC Concealed Carry Permits sought in response to crime increase, firearm instructor says (fox5dc.com)

11-year-old shot and killed Saturday is the son, and grandson, of DC violence interrupters | WJLA

DOJ launches strike force to help reduce gun violence in DC (fox5dc.com)

First-time gun owners totaled at least 5.4M in 2021, groups says (fox5dc.com)

As of January 1, 2021, DCRA has discontinued printing Hard ID cards (Licenses). All Concealed carry permits approved on or after January 1, 2021, will receive, via email, a notification that the application has been reviewed and approved.  This paper license, or an electronic copy of the license, must be on you at all times while carring your weapon.

 

John W Ayala

Lead Instructor

Archangel Firearms Training

202-359-0601

IG - @archangelglobalsecurity

requirements icon

Requirements

WASHINGTON DC CONCEALED CARRY REQUIREMENTS
In addition to meeting all of the Eligibility Requirements to Register a Firearm, an individual applying to carry a concealed firearm must meet the following suitability requirements:

  1. Meets all the requirements for a person registering a firearm.
  2. Completed a firearms training course by an instructor certified by the Chief ( You may apply for an exemption based on previous training within the past 2 years)
  3. Is not presently an alcoholic, addict, or habitual user of a controlled dangerous substance, unless the habitual use of a controlled dangerous substance is under licensed medical direction.
  4. Has not exhibited propensity for violence or instability that may reasonably render a person’s possession of a concealed pistol a danger to the person or another.
  5. Does not currently suffer nor has suffered in the previous five years from any mental disorder, illness, or condition that creates a substantial risk that he or she is a danger to himself or herself or others.

MARYLAND REQUIREMENTS

Approved Wear and Carry Permit training courses are offered by Maryland State Police approved Qualified Handgun Instructors who have established an account through the Maryland State Police MyLicense/E-Gov site. Training is valid until the permit expiration. However, you must receive subsequent training within 2 years of submitting your renewal or subsequent application.
Wear and Carry Permit (maryland.gov)

Nonresident Concealed Handgun Permits

Nonresidents of the Commonwealth of Virginia, 21 years of age or older, may apply in writing to the Virginia State Police for a five-year permit to carry a concealed handgun.

The application shall be made on a form provided by the Virginia State Police, requiring only that information necessary to determine eligibility for the permit. If the permittee is later found by the Virginia State Police to be disqualified, the permit shall be revoked and the person shall return the permit after being so notified by the Virginia State Police.

Nonresident Concealed Handgun Permits - Virginia State Police