Licenses To Carry (LTC)

Permit training for Conceal Carry or Openly Carry in the State of Texas

Duration: 4 hours classroom, 1 hour Lunch, 2 hours range time

$89.99

Fee

Richard Buchfink

Instructor Bio

Date Location Class Size Class Time Instructor Available Spaces
Register Now November 13 Saturday
Weatherford, TX
1 - 8 Students 8:00 AM to 3:00PM Richard Buchfink 7 Spaces Left
Register Now December 4 Saturday
Weatherford, TX
1 - 8 Students 8:00 AM to 3:00PM Richard Buchfink 8 Spaces Left
Register Now January 8 Saturday
Weatherford, TX
1 - 8 Students 8:00 AM to 3:00PM Richard Buchfink 8 Spaces Left
Register Now February 5 Saturday
Weatherford, TX
1 - 8 Students 8:00 AM to 3:00PM Richard Buchfink 8 Spaces Left
ShootingClasses.com target icon

Description

This course gives you the knowledge you need to know about obtaining an LTC permit and the laws that relate to concealing and openly carrying a handgun in the state of Texas. Upon completion of this course, you will receive the LTC 100 certification that is required by the state of Texas to be submitted after completion of your application.

scope icon

Topics Covered

The State of Texas passed laws that allow its citizens to carry concealed handguns for self-protection. Obtaining a license to carry a concealed handgun in the State of Texas requires a minimum 4-6 Hour Concealed Handgun License Certification Course which is outlined by the State Department of Public Safety and covers:

certification icon

Expectations and Outcomes

What you get: The overall objective of this course is to educate clients on the responsibilities and laws applicable to carrying a handgun in public after licensed by the state of Texas. The client will receive an LTC-100 form signed by Instructor for course completion. The LTC-100 form when filled out correctly is good for two years from the date it originated.

Goals:
• Pass written examination with 70 percent (18/25) correct.
• Pass proficiency demonstration 70 percent (175/250) points

Target: B-27

Course of fire
3 yards - 20 rounds
1 round in 2 seconds, 5 times
2 rounds in 3 seconds, 5 times
5 rounds in 10 seconds
7 yards - 20 rounds
5 rounds in 10 seconds
2 rounds in 4 seconds
3 rounds in 6 seconds
1 round in 3 seconds, 5 times
5 rounds in 15 seconds
15 yards - 10 rounds
2 rounds in 6 seconds
3 rounds in 9 seconds
5 rounds in 15 seconds

course types icon

Types

CCW

course requirements icon

Documentation Requirements

The instructor requires a copy of your driver's license once you register.

requirements icon

Requirements

Texas License to Carry a Handgun (LTC) Course Presented by Bronze Star Shooting

Lunch: You will be given 1 hour for a lunch break

Clothing: (Think about where hot brass may go)

• No open toe shoes prefer non-slip shoes
• No V-neck tops
• Jacket for climate change

Special Considerations:

Physical Disabilities – Please Inform me if I need to make specific accommodations for you. To minimize any difficulties, you may be concerned about:

• Do you have issues when standing?
• Do you have arthritis?
• Can you read? (There is a written test)
• Are you in a wheelchair?

Equipment/Personal Protective Equipment (PPE):

The student must provide the following for the range
• A Semi-Automatic or a Non-Semi-Automatic (Revolver) handgun (New law change 1SEPT 17, No minimum caliber size)
• One Magazine (recommend spare magazine or speed loaders with appropriate pouches)
• One hand towel to lay your handguns and ammunition during qualification
• Ear protection in the ear or over-the-ear (recommend electronically so you can hear)
• Eye protection (prescription eyewear is acceptable)
• Shirt with a closed collar
• Closed-toe footwear, such as boots or athletic shoes
• Long pants (no shorts or Capri style)
• Headcover (a hat that covers head and area of the face such as a baseball cap) (Optional)
• Strong side hip holster – recommend form-fitted leather or Kydex, must cover trigger/trigger guard, Quality Belt, designed to carry a holster and a firearm strongly recommended. (Optional)

Ammunition:

• Reloaded ammunition is not allowed
• Must meet SAAMI specifications (see approved list below)
• Must have a minimum of 50 rounds for handgun or training event (Extra recommended)
• No aluminum casing
Sporting arms and ammunition manufacturers' Institute (S.A.A.M.I.)- approved list:
4w ammunition; Asym; Atlanta Arms; Black Hills; Blount, Inc. C.C.I/Speer; Federal Cartridge
Co./American eagle; Fiocchi of America, Inc.; Hornady Mfg. Co.; Olin/Winchester; PMC; Remington
arms co./UMC (this list is not all-inclusive)
Do’s and Dont’s
• Do transport handguns in case separate from ammunition
• No optical sights allowed (example: scopes, laser, or holographic)
• No handgun may have any modification which compromises the safety of the firearm
• No minimum caliber size, you can use a .22 caliber handgun (Must be in good working condition.
Firearms are subject to inspection)
• If using revolvers, no "push off’ on a single action
• There will be no time for practice or to zero in the handgun during the class)

Weather:
The classroom training will go on. However, if we cannot conduct live-fire on an actual outdoor range,
then I am forced to postpone that portion of the exercise until weather permitting. I simply do not
control how ranges are set up or their conditions. We will shoot in the morning dependent on weather
and temperature.

Note:
• Instructions on handling handguns provided during classroom training for safety purposes.
• Students must abide by all range safety rules. Failure to comply with safety rules will result in immediate removal from the range, and result in course failure. No family members, guests, pets, photographs, or videotape will be allowed in the classroom or at the range.