Defensability logo

Women's Intro into Pistol and Women's basic Pistol

Basic - An opportunity for new Women gunowners to develop their shooting skills

Duration: 3-4 hours classroom, 2-3 hours range time. TBD at class time.

$110.00

Fee

Sean Grigsba

Instructor Bio

Date Location Class Size Class Time Instructor Availability
Register Now July 13 Saturday
Ponca City, OK
2 - 4 Students 0730 am end 1500 pm Sean Grigsba Space Available
ShootingClasses.com target icon

Description

THIS IS 2 COURSES IN 1 DAY for $99 + range fee.  Range Fees must be selected as an "add-on" at bottom of page. 

It is important to us that Women feel confident and competent in their shooting abilities so we designed this course to be a “no pressure” women's environment (with the exception of the instructors).

This course is designed to be a basic pistol course to walk you through the nomenclature, safety/safe handling, and fundamentals of pistol shooting.  It meets the States training objective for CCW (Title 21 Section 1290.1 et seg known as the "Oklahoma Self Defense Act), but it is that and a lot more.

I've heard of many instructors who took their CCW students to “a range” and just had them shoot at a target with little concern if the student actually hit center or not. That is not us! Here at Defensability we want you as students to be better than that.  We spend time with you at the range and we work with you one to one leaving you feeling confident and proud to be a responsible gun owner.   

We go beyond the basic required material and cover other topics such as how and where to carry your concealed firearm, holster options; selecting the right handgun, caliber selection and more.

There are no prerequisites for this course.  So, what if you have never fired a handgun before? We will give you the necessary classroom instruction and range instruction to safely complete the course.

scope icon

Topics Covered

  • Firearm safety
  • Safe handling of firearms
  • nomenclature
  • maintenance
  • loading and unloading
  • firearm fundamentals
  • What next? Future courses?

certification icon

Expectations and Outcomes

We expect each student to participate in the safe handling and application of skills learned from the course. 
Students should finish course with confidence to handle a pistol.
Each student should leave with the necessary training to achieve the Oklahoma CCW based on the SDA standard.

course types icon

Types

Basic, Concealed Carry Training, Specialty Other, Women's Only Courses

course requirements icon

Documentation Requirements

Please give a brief description of your shooting experience. 
Description of your firearm (make, model and caliber)

When we are all done, you must have the following eligibility requirements for your OK CCW application:
Be a resident of Oklahoma.
Be at least 21 years of age (Note: you may take the course at age 18. You have three years after completion to make your application for the permit).
Meet background requirements as set forth by Oklahoma law.
Complete an approved safety training course, such as this one, offered by a certified instructor.
Submit your application packet along with proper fees to your local county sheriff.

it your application packet along with proper fees to your local county sheriff.

The instructor requires a copy of your Government Issued ID once you register.

requirements icon

Requirements

Equipment Requirements

Pistol with at least 100 rnds of ammo for that pistol

Leave your unloaded pistol with action or cylinder open in your vehicle for safety. We will head to the range only after the classroom portion is completed. An instructor will inspect your firearm and ammunition before you or your firearm will be permitted on the range. No exceptions.  A firearm found to be unsafe will not be allowed on the range.  Other options can be explored at that time.

Range Fees must be selected as an "add-on" at bottom of page or your registration can not be processed.

 

General requirements

Great attitude

Valid Oklahoma ID.

Hat with a bill to protect from sun and debris
Safety glasses or prescription eyewear if needed
hearing protection (muff style or foamies style)
Closed toe shoes. 

Avoid shirts that are low cut.  Hot brass will find its way down the neck

Lawn chair for breaks. (it is a range...lol)

Sunscreen

Pen and note pad

Extra magazines if you have any

 

Be on time
Defensability may remove anyone from the class at any time.
Maximum caliber allowed is .45. Minimum caliber is .22.

If you qualify with a semi-auto, you will receive endorsement to carry semi-auto, revolver, and derringer. If you qualify with a revolver, you will not be able to carry a semi-auto. If you qualify with a derringer, you will only be allowed to carry a derringer.
It is highly recommended you qualify with a semi-auto to prevent having to re-qualify at a later date should you desire to carry a semi-auto. If you do not have a semi-auto pistol, contact us well in advance to make arrangements. If you do not make the arrangements then you will use what you have.