TX License to Carry (LTC)
Texas DPS-approved course that satisfies the 4-6 classroom hours required by the state to obtain a License To Carry.
Duration: 5 hours classroom, 1 hour range time
There are no upcoming classes scheduled for this course.
This is a Texas DPS-approved course that satisfies the 4-6 classroom hours required by the state to obtain a License To Carry. Following the course there will be both written and range proficiency exams. Students must complete both with a passing score of 70%. Upon successful completion of this course, you will receive the LTC 100 form signed by the instructor, to be submitted to the state after completion of your application.
-Laws that relate to weapons and to the use of deadly force.
-Handgun use and safety, including use of restraint holsters and methods to ensure the secure carrying of openly carried handguns.
-Non-violent dispute resolution.
-Proper storage practices for handguns with an emphasis on storage practices that eliminate the possibility of accidental injury to a child.
-Range Use and Safety
-Shooting Qualification and Scoring
Expectations and Outcomes
Upon successful completion of this course, the student will have a completed LTC 100 form for submission to the state to procure their license.
ADDITIONAL STEPS and FEES NECESSARY to OBTAIN YOUR LICENSE:
- Fill out online State Application and pay fee: $40 https://txapps.texas.gov/txapp/txdps/ltc/
- Submit your completed and signed LTC-100 to the state https://www.dps.texas.gov/rsd/contact/ltcatt.aspx
- Federal Fingerprints: $10 to find a location go to: https://www.identogo.com/locations
Valid TX-issued ID.
It is NOT the responsibility of the instructor to determine eligibility for state licensure. Note that the course and state application fees are NOT refundable should the state determine the student is ineligible. Students that are unsure of their eligibilty should discuss with the Department of Public Safety prior to signing up for this course.
A waiver will be sent to the student upon registration and must be signed prior to the start of class.
The instructor requires a copy of your Government Issued ID once you register.
Must have prior pistol shooting knowledge/skills. This is NOT an instructional shooting course. Unsafe students will be removed from the range and will not pass the course.
Bring to class:
- Valid ID.
- Paper and pen/pencil for notes and test.
- Pistol of quality manufacture (must be approved by the instructor). Pistol rentals may be available for an additional fee, depending on location. **NO OPTICS. IRON SIGHTS ONLY.**
- 50+ rounds of ammo
- Eye and ear protection (may be rented at the range, depending on location).
- Closed-toe shoes.
- Range fees - payable directly to the range.
Additional gear is advised based on range choice and season/weather (indoor/outdoor range, sunscreen, hat, raingear, etc.). No low-cut tops for women.