Fresh Start Firearm Training logo

SC Concealed Weapons Permit Class

Basic - Class to obtain a Concealed Weapons Permit

Duration: 6 hours



Dorothy Davis

Instructor Bio

Date Location Class Size Class Time Instructor Availability

There are no upcoming classes scheduled for this course. target icon


During the class, participants learn: safe gun handling, the different types of concealed firearms, proper care and storage of the firearm and ammunition, range safety and operations, and in depth review of South Carolina firearm laws. The training also includes range safety rules and live firing on the range. 

scope icon

Topics Covered


The class includes Laws & Firearms Proficiency.

  • Statutory and case law regarding deadly force

  • South Carolina laws governing firearms and concealed weapons permits

  • Proper firearms storage practices that deny access to children

  • Prohibited carry locations

  • Liability and responsibility issues relating to firearms

  • Proper interaction with Law Enforcement Officers

  • Firearms safety rules

  • Carrying “cocked & locked”

  • Firearm retention techniques overview

  • Handgun safety, manipulation, and operation

  • Concealment techniques and drawing from concealment

  • Range qualification

  • Written exam

  • All required forms and fingerprint cards are included with the class fee.

certification icon

Expectations and Outcomes

Successfully completing this course meets the training requirements when applying for a Concealed Weapons Permit in the State of South Carolina.

course types icon


Basic, Concealed Carry Training, NRA Courses, Specialty Other

course requirements icon

Documentation Requirements

All required forms and fingerprint cards are included with the class fee. 

The instructor requires a copy of your Government Issued ID once you register.

requirements icon


Course attendees must be at least 18 years of age, and not be prohibited by law from possessing a firearm. (Must be 21 to submit CWP application to SLED.)


camera icon