There are no upcoming classes scheduled for this course.
Looking to get your handgun license in Oklahoma? Come take the safety course with us! Limited spots available. Please contact me to reserve your spot.
This course meets all training requirements in accordance with Title 21 Section 1290.1 et seg known as the "Oklahoma Self Defense Act." All instructors are required to use the state of Oklahoma approved curriculum. We will also go over some additional information to help you as you start your carry journey.
To be eligible to apply for the license you must:
Be a resident of Oklahoma.
Be at least 21 years of age (you may take the course at age 18. You have three years after completion to submit your application for the permit).
Meet background requirements as stated by Oklahoma law.
Complete an approved SDA training course (like this one) offered by a certified instructor.
Submit your application packet along with proper fees to your local County Sheriff's Office.
Fees for obtaining the Oklahoma Concealed Carry Permit are as follows:
$60.00 Cost of Training Course
Following Fees are Paid at the time of applying for your license.
$100.00 OSBI Licensing Fee – 5yr (Paid to OSBI).
$200.00 OSBI Licensing Fee – 10yr (Paid to OSBI).
$25.00 Cost of Fingerprinting at Sheriff's Office (Paid to Your County Sheriff).
Maximum caliber permitted is .45. Minimum caliber is .22. If you qualify with a semi-auto, you will obtain the endorsement to carry semi-auto, revolver, and derringer. If you qualify with a revolver, you will not be able to carry a semi-auto. If you qualify with a derringer, you will only be permitted to carry a derringer. It is highly suggested you qualify with a semi-auto to avoid needing to re-qualify later. If you do not have a semi-auto pistol, please let me know beforehand and we will make arrangements.
- Gun laws
- Fundamentals of shooting a handgun
Expectations and Outcomes
- SDA Certificate
- Knowledge of Oklahoma gun laws
- Knowledge of firearms safety
- Knowledge of the basics of shooting a handgun
- Demonstration of handgun shooting
- Valid Oklahoma ID
- Must be at least 18 to take the course
- Must be at least 21 to get license
The instructor requires a copy of your Concealed Carry Weapons permit once you register.
- 50 rounds of ammunition
- Eye and ear protection
- All of the above can be provided if needed