If you are new to pistols, the fundamentals of marksmanship, etc. then INTRO TO PISTOL is perfect for you!
CONCEALED CARRY PLUS SO MUCH MORE! I hear of so many instructors who just take you to the range & say "Shoot that way!" calling their students accurate when the majority of their shots are no where near the bullseye. I go above and beyond on the range, giving one-on-one instruction, with students leaving with small, tight, center-of-mass groupings. Be confident when you carry with Sweet Shot Firearms!
For ONLY $175 you can take the course required to get your SDA Permit/Oklahoma Handgun License (open/conceal) to legally carry your firearm PLUS learn the Basics to shooting fundamentals, ammunition and cleaning your firearm! This is just the beginning and I'm honored to take that first step with you!
This course meets all training requirements in accordance with Title 21 Section 1290.1 et seg known as the "Oklahoma Self Defense Act".
All instructors are required to use the state of Oklahoma approved curriculum. I take the required information and put it into instruction and language you can understand. I utilize experiences, scenarios, and participation exercises to allow my students to not just hear the law read from an instructor's book but to actually experience what the rules and regulations are all about.
I go beyond the required material and give my students a head start in concealed carry by going over additional subjects such as how to carry your concealed weapon effectively, the multitude of options available in holsters and other carry gear; handgun, caliber, ammunition selection and more. You will have the opportunity for hands on knowledge that require most people years of trial and error to receive. I truly care about the students and want you to leave the class with confidence, knowledge, and new abilities. Upon completion, there's a good chance you will know more than many people who have been carrying for years. PLUS YOU WILL HAVE FUN!
The curriculum for this course was prepared by the State of Oklahoma. However, using my proven training techniques of total participant involvement, I am able to make this class both educational and enjoyable. There are absolutely no prerequisites for this course. Even if you have never fired a handgun before, we will give you the necessary instruction to safely complete the live fire portion of this course. Don't own or have access to a handgun? No problem, I have handguns available for rent.
Intro to Pistol - You Will Learn:
- Pistol & Revolver knowledge & safe handling
- Fundamentals of Pistol & Revolver shooting
- Types of Ammunition
- Proper shooting stance
- Proper maintenance and care of Pistol & Revolver
- Proper range etiquette and rules of conduct
- General Firearm Safety.
- Provisions of Oklahoma Laws Relating to Self-Defense.
- Provisions of Oklahoma Self Defense Act.
- Introduction to Shooting Fundamentals.
- Any additional content provided by the instructor(s)
- Live Fire Course.
Basic, CCW, Instructor Coach Training Courses, Instructor Training Courses, LEO / MIL / SEC Courses, NRA Courses, Seminars / Lectures, Women's Only Courses
To be eligible to apply for a Oklahoma Handgun License you must:
Be a resident of Oklahoma.
Be at least 21 years of age (Note: you may take the course at age 18. You have three years after completion to make your application for the permit).
Meet background requirements as set forth by Oklahoma law.
Complete an approved safety training course, such as this one, offered by a certified instructor.
Submit your application packet along with proper fees to your local county sheriff.
Fees for obtaining the Oklahoma Concealed Carry Permit are as follows:
Following Fees are Paid at the time of applying for your license.
$100.00 OSBI Licensing Fee – 5yr (Paid to OSBI).
$200.00 OSBI Licensing Fee – 10yr (Paid to OSBI).
$25.00 Cost of Fingerprinting at Sheriff's Office (Paid to Your County Sheriff).
Passport Picture (depends on where you have your picture made) $10
Your Pistol. Leave your unloaded pistol with action or cylinder open in your automobile for safety. Upon completion of the classroom portion we will head to the range. You will not be allowed on the live fire range with a pistol deemed unsafe by the instructor.
150-200 Rounds of New Factory Loaded Ammunition. No reloads or handloads will be permitted.
If you don’t have a pistol rental fee is $10.
If you are renting a pistol you will have to buy your ammo at Guns Of Glory
Closed Toed Shoes
A Brimmed Baseball Style Cap.
Avoid low cut shirts or outfits (Hot brass dance).
Valid Oklahoma I.D.
Pen/Pencil and notepad
Sack lunch, drinks and snacks (we do have access to a microwave) or $ for lunch there's a Casey's close by
Lawn chair & Sunscreen are optional
Extra magazines if you have them
WATER! Lots of water!
Oklahoma Self Defense Act Booklet (May be downloaded from OSBI website). (NOT required)
$20 Range fee
Make sure you have plenty of time to reach the class. Tardiness will result in canceling your class time.
The instructor may remove anyone from the class at any time.
Your firearm must be safe and in good operating condition. All firearms will be inspected. If a firearm is deemed unsafe, you will not be allowed to qualify with that firearm.
Maximum caliber allowed is .45. Minimum caliber is .22. If you qualify with a semi-auto, you will receive endorsement to carry semi-auto, revolver, and derringer. If you qualify with a revolver, you will not be able to carry a semi-auto. If you qualify with a derringer, you will only be allowed to carry a derringer.
It is highly recommended you qualify with a semi-auto to prevent having to re-qualify at a later date should you desire to carry a semi-auto. If you do not have a semi-auto pistol, rentals are available. Contact us in advanced of the class to make arrangements.