LegallyArmed In West Michigan logo

Michigan Concealed Pistol Licensing Class

Our Full Schedule is at

Duration: 5 Hours of class time/3 Hours range time



Date Location Class Size Class Time Instructor Availability
Register Now March 9 Saturday
Byron Center, MI
1 - 6 Students 8:00AM - 4:30PM Ron Tiller Space Available
Register Now March 23 Saturday
Byron Center, MI
1 - 8 Students 8:00AM - 4:30PM Ron Tiller Space Available
Register Now April 6 Saturday
Byron Center, MI
1 - 10 Students 8:00AM - 4:30PM Ron Tiller Space Available
Register Now April 20 Saturday
Byron Center, MI
1 - 10 Students 8:00AM - 4:30PM Ron Tiller Space Available target icon


This is an 8 hour class which satisfies all training requirements as outlined in section 5j of 1927 PA 372 for first time CPL applicants or renewal of an existing or expired concealed pistol license. This is the Michigan Coalition For Responsible Gun Owners course and includes live fire of firearms at the end of the class.  A completion certificate is awarded upon successful completion of the class. 

Classes are completed in one day 8:00AM to about 4:30PM (Doors are open at 7:40). You may bring your lunch or order delivery. We will have lunch about 11:30 AM and we will eat while we learn.

  • This class has many different descriptions that are more or less correct. Some examples are: ccw, pistol class, gun class, firearm class, firearms safety, gun safety, shooting class, guns, pistols, shooting, cpl, license, licensing, concealed, permit, and there are others. The main thing is that the class is all that is required to apply for your Michigan Concealed Pistol license cpl

scope icon

Topics Covered

The following topics are covered in the class:

- Safe storage and handling of a pistol with emphasis on child safety.

- Ammunition knowledge and fundamentals of pistol shooting.

- Pistol shooting positions.

- Firearms and the law including civil liabilities and the use of deadly force.

- Avoiding criminal attack and controlling a violent confrontation.

- An overview of laws that apply to carrying a concealed pistol in Michigan.

- Other topics such as the history of CCW, State to State reciprocity and methods of carry.

certification icon

Expectations and Outcomes

Upon successful completion of the class you will receive a completion certificate which you then take to your County Clerk's office to apply for your Concealed Pistol License.

course types icon


Concealed Carry License, Concealed Carry Training, In Home Defense Training, Legal Aspects for Use of Force / Avoidance, Private Classes (Group / Individual), Range Safety Officer, Seminars / Lectures, USCCA Courses

course requirements icon

Documentation Requirements

To register we need
1. your name as it appears on your Michigan driver's license or State ID
2. Your telephone number
3. Your e-mail address
4. Whether or not you will be using your own firearm or renting one of ours ($25.00 which includes ammunition and cleaning afterwards).

requirements icon


1. Eye protection which includes regular or sun glasses or safety goggles
2. Ear protection, either foam inserts or "earmuff" style
3. A willingness to learn