18 Hour NYS Pistol Permit Course

Basic - Erie, Chautauqua, Niagara, Cattaraugus, Allegany Counties.

Duration: 18 hours, includes 2 hours of range time.



Date Location Class Size Class Time Instructor Availability
Register Now July 20 Saturday
2 Day Class
Fredonia, NY
1 - 30 Students 7am until 4pm both days William Buchholz Space Available
ShootingClasses.com target icon


This safety course is required in order to obtain your NYS pistol permit. This is a basic safety class for anyone considering owning a firearm. Course topics include gun safety, gun owner’s responsibilities, proper operation of revolvers and semi-automatic pistols, ammunition knowledge and selection, pistol selection and storage, shooting fundamentals, pistol inspection and maintenance, marksmanship, conflict management, suicide prevention, deadly physical force, sensitive and reatricted locatiins, shooting range safety and more!

Includes: range time, safety equipment, book and ammunition.

Call 716-713-1583 for additional information and to reserve a seat.

Florida and Arizona Non-Resident CCW courses/applications are also available for additional fee.

scope icon

Topics Covered

Course topics include:
Gun Safety
Gun Owner’s Responsibilities
Proper Operation of Revolvers and Semi-Automatic Pistols Ammunition Knowledge and Selection
Pistol Selection and Storage,
Shooting Fundamentals
Law Enforcement Encounters
Conflict De Escalation Techniques
Sensitive and Restricted Locations 
Suicide Prevention
Deadly Physical Force
Pistol Inspection and Maintenance,
Shooting Range Safety and More!

certification icon

Expectations and Outcomes

Students will be awarded a Certificate of Completion upon successful completion of course. This certificate is required to obtain your NYS pistol PErmit.

course types icon


Basic, Concealed Carry Training

course requirements icon

Documentation Requirements

Photo ID required!

Call for class dates, locations and to reserve your spot Tel: 716-713-1583

The instructor requires a copy of your Government Issued ID once you register.

requirements icon


Must be NYS resident.
Must be 21 years of age or older.

Call to reserve your spot. Tel: 716-713-1583

camera icon